just go with it

Bernard Shaw:
“The secret of being miserable is to have leisure to bother about whether you are happy or not. The cure for it is occupation, because occupation means pre-occupation; and the
pre-occupied person is neither happy nor unhappy, but simply alive and active. That is why it is necessary to happiness that one should be tired.”

or in Dale Carnegie’s paraphrase:
“George Bernard Shaw was right. He summed it all up when he said: ‘The secret of being miserable is to have the leisure to bother about whether you are happy or not.’ So don’t bother to think about it! Spit on your hands and get busy. Your blood will start circulating; your mind will start ticking—and pretty soon this whole positive upsurge of life in your body will drive worry from your mind. Get busy. Keep busy. It’s the cheapest kind of medicine there is on this earth—and one of the best.”

I am always conflicted on this, though..

I tend to rationalize my idleness as a way of mindfulness meditation
or alignment with my inner fluctuations
and mastering the art of letting go
I self-justify my passivity & tell myself that busyness and all the hustle & bustle is nothing but losing oneself in distraction and giving up, in effect, the beauty of stopping to smell the roses
but then I start wondering whether the anxiety rising up inside out of idleness is not a direct reflection of my resistance to the flow of life
a reflection of my laziness to being a productive force of nature

life is an invitation
to participate
and the more I seek the avoid it
to get above & outside its chaos
and the more I resist its flow:
the more dejected and dead I become
inside & out

it’s a loop

what (death) I seek to avoid
is what I end up attracting

the more that I resent the randomness and contingency and the flux and chaos of life
and therefore resist “just going with it”
the less I am alive:
as if stuck inside an asphyxiating container
that keeps shrinking
fear shrinkwraps and drains the juices of life out of me

there is a difference between ‘letting go’ and ‘letting go’
one of them is passive
one of them is proactively done
and both are essential
they key, as always, is to strike the right balance

life happens on the inside
where you are losing the self you have identified with
every time you relax further inside

I can seek to keep an image of myself outside, insulated, safe and sound
but where my essence is called forth is in the heart of the mesh

enriching my experience
is my offering to the collective experiential dimension of life

my truest contribution

Leave a Reply

